•  Sumter County Nature Trust

    The Sumter County Nature Trust was established in 1985 through a gift from Doctors Ralph and Margaret Lyon, both UWA Professors Emeriti. The Lyons, who lived in Sumter County for over thirty years, chose this avenue as a means of expressing their love for the county, for nature, and for people. The Trust is committed to identifying and preserving the natural resources of Sumter County, informing citizens about such matters, sponsoring environmental education activities, and developing sites where citizens can enjoy and appreciate the environmental treasures of the Black Belt Region. Endowment income provides funds for activities initiated by the Trust, as well as matching grants for individuals and organizations interested in fulfilling the goals of the Trust.

    The Trust is administered by a five-member Board of Directors appointed by the UWA Board of Trustees. The Chairperson is a faculty member in the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics.